The board and board appointed committees

The Northam board is diverse, consisting of 13 members. A total of 23% of our board members hold engineering degrees, 38% are chartered accountants (SA) and the balance have relevant experience in corporate finance, mergers and acquisitions and other associated and requisite disciplines. Six board members, including our chief executive officer (CEO), have extensive exposure and experience as CEOs.

Board demographics

Board demographics [graph]


Tenure [graph]

Gender diversity



Gender diversity female [icon]


Gender diversity male [icon]
Northam target for female
board representation: 20%

Age diversity





Age diversity [icon]
Average age of 57,
54% under the age of 60

Governance structure

Board of directors
Non-executive directors: Executive directors: Independent non-executive directors:
TE Kgosi PA Dunne
(chief executive officer)
AH Coetzee
(chief financial officer)
DH Brown (Chairman)
HH Hickey
Dr NY Jekwa
GT Lewis
JJ Nel
MH Jonas
TI Mvusi
JG Smithies

DH Brown [photo]

DH Brown

Independent non-executive chairman


Appointed to the board in November 2017

Other directorships: Serves in a non-executive capacity on the boards of listed companies Resilient Reit Limited, Bindura Nickel Company Limited, Freda Rebecca Gold Mine Limited and the Vodacom Group Limited, where he is also the lead independent director. He also serves as a non-executive director of unlisted Great Dyke Investments, Ntsimbintle Holdings (Pty) Limited and Revego Africa Energy Limited.

Experience: Former CEO of MC Mining Limited and prior to that served as CEO and CFO at Impala Platinum Holdings Limited (Implats). He was previously a member of the Accenture South Africa advisory board, worked in information technology and for the Exxon Mobil Corporation in Europe.

Expertise: Mining (with PGMs focus), M&A, finance, audit and risk.

AH Coetzee [photo]

AH Coetzee

Chief financial officer


Appointed to the board in November 2018

Other directorships: Non-executive director of Zambezi Platinum.

Experience: Former associate director at EY.

Expertise: Finance, audit and risk management

PA Dunne [photo]

PA Dunne (British)

Chief executive officer

BSc (Hons), MBA

Appointed to the board in March 2014

Other directorships and appointments: Non-executive director of Zambezi Platinum and the International Platinum Group Metals Association (IPA). Appointed as Vice President of the South African Minerals Council in May 2021

Experience: Former executive director at Implats, responsible for all mining, concentrating and smelting operations at the group’s Rustenburg and Marula mines.

Expertise: Mining and metallurgy (with PGMs focus)

HH Hickey [photo]

HH Hickey

Independent non-executive director


Appointed to the board in January 2016

Other directorships: Independent non-executive director of Barloworld Limited, and Pepkor Holdings Limited.

Experience: Former chairman of the South African Institute of Chartered Accountants.

Expertise: Finance, audit, risk management and governance at large, listed entities.

Dr NY Jekwa [photo]

Dr NY Jekwa

Independent non-executive director

MBA (Finance), MBBCh (Bachelor of Medicine and Bachelor of Surgery), MIoDSA

Appointed to the board in November 2017

Other directorships: Joint managing director of Mergence Investment Managers Proprietary Limited and an independent non-executive director of Ascendis Health Limited. She is also a non-executive director of Brait Societas Europaea.

Experience: Former head of capital raising at Coast2Coast Proprietary Limited (a private equity firm) and has held senior positions in both structured and leveraging finance at Rand Merchant Bank and Nedbank Corporate and Investment Bank.

Expertise: Finance and M&A

GT Lewis [photo]

GT Lewis (British)

Independent non-executive director

BSc (Mining Engineering), MBA

Appointed to the board in December 2020

Experience: Former chief executive of Northam, Mr Lewis was instrumental in the development of the Booysendal mine, and he is a former general manager also of Zondereinde. In Ghana he established the Tarkwa gold mine, as general manager for Gold Fields Ghana. At the same time he chaired the Ghana Chamber of Mines Technical Committee. Mr Lewis has held senior positions at a number of gold, coal and base metal mining operations.

Expertise: mining engineering, technical

MH Jonas [photo]

MH Jonas

Independent non-executive director

BA (History and Sociology)

Appointed to the board in November 2018

Other directorships: Chairman of MTN Group Limited and independent non-executive director of Sygnia Limited.

Experience: One of four independent presidential investment envoys, appointed by President Cyril Ramaphosa to attract investors to South Africa. Former deputy finance minister of the Government of South Africa from 2014 to 2017 and member of the National Assembly until April 2017. Former chairman and non-executive director of the Public Investment Corporation.

Expertise: Finance

TE Kgosi [photo]

TE Kgosi

Non-executive director

BCom (Hons)

Appointed to the board in November 2004

Experience: Former cluster manager – materials management (Gauteng and North West operating units) in supply chain operations, Eskom SOC Limited. Extensive experience in the banking sector (specialising in treasury), having held positions at a number of South Africa’s main banking groups as well as Credit Suisse First Boston (NY).

Expertise: Finance

TI Mvusi [photo]

TI Mvusi

Independent non-executive director


Appointed to the board in January 2016

Other directorships: Mr Mvusi is a non-executive director of Sanlam Investments Proprietary Limited (Sanlam), African Rainbow Capital Limited, Dippenaar and Reinecke Proprietary Limited and Umso Construction Proprietary Limited.

Experience: Former chief executive of market development at Sanlam up until December 2020 and was appointed acting chief executive of Sanlam Corporate in April 2017. Mr Mvusi was previously a general manager of Gensec Property Services Limited and marketing manager at Franklin and Templeton Asset Management.

Expertise: Finance and investment management

JJ Nel [photo]

JJ Nel

Independent non-executive director


Appointed to the board in November 2018

Other directorships: Non-executive director of DRDGOLD Limited; Mimosa Holdings Proprietary Limited and Mimosa Investment Limited (owner of Mimosa Platinum mine in Zimbabwe); and independent non-executive director of Tongaat Hulett Limited

Experience: Former divisional CEO for Sibanye- Stillwater Limited (Sibanye-Stillwater), heading the PGM division of Sibanye-Stillwater following the acquisition of Aquarius Platinum Limited (Aquarius) in 2016. Former CEO of Aquarius from 2012 to 2016.

Expertise: Mining (with PGMs focus), finance and M&A

JG Smithies [photo]

JG Smithies (British)

Independent non-executive director

BSc (Mining Engineering), BSc (Chemistry)

Appointed to the board in January 2017

Experience: Former director of operations and CEO of Implats.

Expertise: Mining (with PGMs focus)

Board and committee meetings

The board and its committees meet at least once a quarter; ad hoc meetings may also be called to consider specific issues. The investment committee and the nomination committee meet as and when required, which may be more or less than four times a year. All directors are required to declare their directorships and interests. At each board and committee meeting they are requested to declare any conflict of interest in matters pending.